Press "Enter" to skip to content

8 films that don't really deserve their Oscar nominations, according to critics

This post was originally published on this site

“Star Wars: The Rise of the Skywalker” (2019) earned three nominations despite its rather poor critical reception,

jannah star wars rise of skywalker

Many think this is one of the worst “Star Wars” films. Lucasfilm

The final installment in the “Star Wars” franchise’s third trilogy, “Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker” follows Rey, Finn, and Poe as they race to defend the galaxy from ultimate evil. 

The science-fiction film was nominated for three Oscar awards: sound editing, visual effects, and music (original score) for composer John Williams. 

Compared to “The Force Awakens” (2015) and “The Last Jedi” (2017), this installment has the lowest critical rating, earning just 53% on Rotten Tomatoes

Some rave reviews praised the film’s nostalgic iconography and breathless pace, but many critics felt like “Rise of Skywalker” failed to end on the high note that the series deserved. 

“It’s hard to believe, at the culmination of 42 years and nine movies, that the last three would be essentially improvisational exercises by all directors concerned,” wrote Pete Vonder Haar for Houston Press

In addition, MaryAnn Johanson of Flick Filosopher wrote that “Rise of Skywalker” forgot to fulfill what was great about the franchise in the first place. 

“Kudos to J.J. Abrams for doing something extraordinary: he has made me not care about ‘Star Wars’ for the first time ever,” wrote Johanson. “I’m kind of relieved that it’s over, because it has stopped being fun.”

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

California Daily Press © 2019