Press "Enter" to skip to content

Meet the Horses That Posted the Fastest Preakness Times

This post was originally published on this site

Winning the Preakness Stakes, or any jewel of the Triple Crown, is all about timing. Mere milliseconds can determine the winner of the coveted blanket of black-eyed Susans. The famous Secretariat set the record in 1973 at just 1:53 — though it took nearly 40 years for his greatness to be recognizzed. Though horses have posted running times faster than Secretariat’s, they raced a shorter distance. In fact, the Preakness has been set at seven different distances since it began in 1873. The 1 3/16 miles that it is today has been in place since 1925. So take a look at the top 10 fastest Preakness winners since 1925.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

California Daily Press 2018